New York Week

3 03 2008

I feel like I’ve spent a good portion of the last couple weeks whining: about the cold, my waning tan, my want of a home for the llama sweater… just about everything, that is, that has to do with returning home. And I fear that it’s shedding a bad light on my beloved New York. To rectify this situation, I hereby name this week “New York Week” and will veer away from tales of South American adventures to spend some time exploring a little closer to home.

Today I’m keeping it pretty simple, with a list of things I enjoy about the city:

1) HopStop, the lifesaver of a website that always gets me where I need to go, and never makes me feel like an idiot for having lived in the city over a year and still needing it.

2) B Cup, the friendly local coffee shop where they serve up delicious coffee and allow me to use the free wifi long after I’ve drained my cup. A perfect escape when I go stir crazy at home, especially because they play good work music without blasting it.

3) www.freenyc.com. Enough said.

4) Mystery Shopping. (If I added a link it would take the mystery out of it, now wouldn’t it?) I fell into it while looking for a job last year, but it’s allowed this starving student to visit some of New York’s best restaurants without having to foot the bill.

Lesson learned: No matter what the temperature is outside or how much I miss my travels, I still live in a pretty fantastic town.

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 03 2008
roy moussaieff

Have you checked publicroutes.com, we have the largest coverage area in NY-NJ-CT Metro area.

4 06 2008
East Village Coffee Shops: B Cup

[…] Back to the coffee – I ordered the “Iced Vanilla Coffee” ($2.80) that was being hawked on the chalkboard near the B Cup doorstep. The vanilla either gave the iced coffee a Hazelnut taste.. or the vanilla couldn’t overcome the already Hazelnut iced coffee. It was still satisfying, though. B cup is a deserved, neighborhood favorite – even among the stiletto crowd. […]

Leave a Reply

