The Other Green Travel

16 03 2008

St. Patrick’s Day is not just a day in the tri-State area. The Irish set here really make the revelry last. As long as they can. The festivities start with the Hoboken Parade (usually the first weekend in March). Die-hard Irish and party devotees head across the river for a day of green beer and raucous parties. I’ve not attended myself, but have heard from friends that it’s chaos in the streets and there are lines to get into the bars.

Then comes St. Patty’s itself, which is marked by a whole weekend (whichever falls closer the the actual day) of green-clad Manhattanites, and many visitors, stumbling through Manhattan’s street at all hours of the night, and all hours of the day for that matter. These devotees aren’t messing around: the party often starts with beer over breakfast.

Though there are Irish bars and pubs all over the city, I’ve decided that Third Ave. between 18th Street and 30th Street is the Irish pub hub. Last night, decked out in my own green (and no, I don’t own green stilettos, nor even green shoes for that matter, though perhaps they should go on the list), I made my way up Third Ave. to meet some friends at the Mad Hatter. Along the way I passed Pug Uglies—where last year I saw a real Irish band, in full traditional dress, parade through the world’s tiniest (and most crowded) parade route—and several other Irish bars, all drenched in green lights and overflowing with the aforementioned green devotees, now barely able to walk due to the day’s long party.

The scene at the Mad Hatter was about the same as its pub neighbors, and after one beer my friends and I retired to the next likely St. Pat’s party place: Mexicana Mama’s, where we swapped guiness and U2 for the less traditional margarita and Mariachis. Somehow it was no less crowded, however. We waited an hour for our table, but the great food and the Mariachi serenade (we chose the ever-popular “De Colores“) made the wait worth it.

We ended the night with one last Guiness (which I only pretended to drink, ssh don’t tell) at O’Neill’s Irish Pub, also, remarkably, on Third Ave. but in the Forties (see, I must be onto something), where we listened to an Irish band and watched in rapture as the guy on the end gently tapped a large drum-like instrument (yes, that is the technical term). Over the crowds at this point, I didn’t enjoy the music for very long before I was ready to go home.

I’ll make up for it tomorrow when I visit the NYC St. Patrick’s Day Parade (the perks of not having a day job). It starts at 44th Street (at 11 a.m.) and winds its way up Fifth Ave., stopping near St. Patrick’s Cathedral where the Archbishop of New York, His Eminence Cardinal Edward Eaganwill watch and bless the parade. Given my penchant for partaking in parades, I’ll be avoiding the temptation this time around by watching closer to the end (86th Street), and then I’ll report back tomorrow.

Actions

Information

4 responses

17 03 2008
rachel

i especially love that you requested de colores from a mariachi band…since when do they play christian songs??? also, i love that you “pretended” to drink guiness…yuck. liquid dirt.

ps-how’s that sweater? perhaps you should send it to me and i will whip up something nice and totally unnecessary for you?

17 03 2008
Suzanne Russo

De Colores never fails (not that I hear it often) to to bring back memories of Mrs. Harper’s Spanish class and her frequent lapses into French (and our overachiever angst that said lapses meant we weren’t learning anything).

Thank you for sweater advice. I have yet to try the hot wash but will do so this week and let you know how it goes. Knowing me, you may just be getting a shrunken llama sweater and a few pathetic pleas for help some time in the near future. Also I had lunch with Cristalle last week, who also knew what felting was. Me and my creative friends! (She says hello btw).

18 03 2008
TraveloVacations

Excellent! Thanks for doing this…it’s really nice to know that I’m not alone on a lot of these things.

29 03 2008
bal

Nice to meet you.
I had a look at blog.
Please link to this site.
http://www.geocities.jp/uha876/

Leave a Reply

