Election Day Chocolate

3 11 2008

Tomorrow is the big day, the day we’ve all been waiting for, and the day that could change the course of our country’s future. Dramatic, yes, but true nontheless. And I couldn’t be more excited. And more nervous. I have been frenetically checking FiveThirtyEight all weekend, and though it appears we have it in the bag, my stomach is in knots and I’m desperately afraid that something might happen to change it up at the last minute.

The upside to all this nerves is that I’ve made a new discovery. There is nothing better to calm the jitters than a little bit of chocolate, especially when it’s creamy, rich, eco-friendly and Fair Trade. The other day I stumbled into the Whole Foods chocolate aisle, which is a dangerous place to be if you love chocolate as I do. And there, on the shelf, was Alter Eco chocolate, all Fair Trade certified and made with natural ingredients. The bar I chose was made with cocoa harvested from the Bolvian Amazon, and my purchase directly supported “a better life for farming families through fair prices, direct trade, community development and environmental stewardship.”

And it was delicious to boot, honestly, the Dark Velvet Chocolate was the creamiest dark chocolate I’ve ever tasted, with a kick at the end. They have a great selection of interesting flavors and it turns out Alter Eco has a whole line of Fair Trade food items beyond the chocolate, from quinoa to coffee. But I’m still stuck on the chocolate, at least until victory time tomorrow. And if that doesn’t come, you can find me harvesting cocoa in the Bolivian Amazon…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

