Christmastime in the City

17 12 2008

I’m not shy about my disdain of winter. Generally I find it cold and miserable, especially when the wind picks up. And yet there is something that makes Christmas decorations all the more, uh, Christmasey, when the air has that bit of chill to it. And, I’ll admit it, walking home last night, with snowflakes flurrying about me and a thin blanket of that pretty white substance that we have to fabricate in California was a little touch of magic (topped only by the tiny, blinking, and ever-so-charming Christmas tree with which some nice neighbor graced my new lobby).

Now, New York, cold and snow and all, may be considered, if you will, the city of Christmas. We have Rockefeller Center (much as I cringe thinking about cutting down trees, I can’t deny that the fact that this one has its own website is pretty nifty, even niftier that it lists some green tips), for one, and then there are those little ladies with the long legs, who really know how to kick it up a notch for Christmas (sorry for the terrible pun).

But these Christmas classics are just the tip of the iceberg. And so, for the remainder of the week, I devote Around the World to Christmas festivities, in New York and elsewhere. Because the first snow of the season got me into the spirit.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

