Latest Obsession: Sosauce

2 03 2009

I’ll confess I’m not really big on the social networking revolution. I have the obligatory Facebook and MySpace accounts but rather obstinately refrain from using them unless someone contacts me first. I’m behind the times, I know (my older sister, on the other hand, has been on Facebook all of a month and has 300+ friends—go figure).

That’s to say nothing of the many social networking sites devoted to travel alone. I’m not sure if there are other industries that merit their own litany of social networking sites, but travelers, not surprisingly, love to connect and share stories (and pictures and tips) with other travelers. And so this is one type of social networking I can definitely get behind, especially when it’s as cool a site as my latest discovery: Social Sauce.

Last week I had the pleasure of meeting a few of the masterminds behind Sosauce when they hosted a cocktail party with the EuroCheapo crew. Buoyed by Tom’s delicious sangria, I went straight home and, admittedly, stayed up far too long creating a Sosauce profile. Too bad I’ve only since recruited one friend (who, it just so happens, is one of the few people I know who is not on Facebook). Looks like I’m going to have convince my sister to come on board.

Anyhow, Sosauce is the social networking site to end all social networking sites, for travel at least. First, they call themselves “travel geeks” (note: any time you can be an “anything geek,” do it!). Second, there is a cool interactive guide section, as well as a great personal area where you can share videos, photos, journal entries, map your trips and much more. But my favorite part is the socially conscious aspect. The standard profile page gives travel geeks, in addition to the usual name, interests, etc. spaces, a place to choose their endangered species of choice as well as the social and environmental causes they most care about. And it must be noted that the business cards of Sosauce employees each feature a different endangered species with a bottle of sauce. Now if my adoring their business cards isn’t geeky, I don’t know what is!

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 03 2009
Alisha

Hey Suzanne

I’m Alisha with Sosauce, I’m so thrileld you love our site. Thanks so much for writing up such a fab review. Have you joined the site? If so feel free to friend me: sosauce.com/alisha 🙂

Best,
Alisha

17 03 2009
Suzanne Russo

Thanks Alisha — I am on the site and will definitely add you — I need more Sosauce friends 🙂

15 05 2009
Darwin

Great post about sosauce. and I do agree with you that travelers love to connect and share stories (and pictures and tips) with other travelers.

I want to invite you to check out TripNTale.com, a site I created to let travelers showcase where they have traveled.

Any feedback will definitely be appreciated.

Thanks,
Darwin

Leave a Reply

