Friday Pennies: NY Souvenirs and Orchids and More

7 03 2009

It’s been a while since I’ve done a penny post, and after the week I’ve had, I need one. I don’t know why this week was exceptionally hard, but the combination of the frigid weather outside and my own feeling under the weather has had me feeling exhausted and pretty much blue all week long. But coming into the weekend, all is looking fine. A few reasons? Funny you should ask:

  • I’m lovin’ this blog post on Budget Travel about Authentic, Affordable New York Souvenirs. No snow globes here! A few favorites: the fantastic and unique New York dishes from Fishs Eddy, sweets from Zabar’s, and, of course, totes from Strand Books. A few to add: Fat Witch Brownies and that magical scrub from Sabon.
  • The fact that I was able to walk around today without my toes going numb. Is spring here?
  • Orchids.
  • Book group. I just picked up the latest book today. Confessions of an Economic Hitman, in which John Perkins tells of his role in helping “the U.S. cheat poor countries around the globe out of trillions of dollars by lending them more money than they could possibly repay and then taking over their economies.” Not, admittedly, something I would have chosen, which is why I’m thrilled that book group turned me on to it. I’ve read two pages and am already fascinated!
  • The weekend. Despite the fact that I must work tomorrow (I have to attend a class to learn about SAT prep, faux-yay!), the weekend promises a chat with Liz in London, a tour of an abandoned subway tunnel, and longer, lighter days.
Actions

Information

5 responses

26 03 2009
Stephanie

I watched a video last night called Zeitgeist and they discussed the Economic Hitman. Very interesting! I just may have to check out that book.

27 03 2009
Suzanne Russo

Thanks Steph! I’m going to have to check out that video. You must read this book. It truly is great. Hope you’re doing well…

11 04 2009
Nicolette

TT,

I LOVE YOU! I wish you were here. You are a great writer. Maybe when you come here we could have a tea party. Gabriella and I are going to write a cook book tonight and hopefully get it finished and we will send it to you. I am writing one about drinks and entrees. Gabriella is writing one about desserts and appetizers.

11 04 2009
Nicolette

#1 AUNT IN AMERICA

NO BETTER AUNT

I LOVE YOU TT

11 04 2009
Olivia

TT, I think you are a great writter. I hope you get the job you wanted. Did you know I miss you so much. You make me so happy when you are here. I think you will get the job. you have a great memorey. And imageination. You make me sad when you are’t here. I wish you were here. I think one person will give you a job if they don’t I’ll be sad if they dident You are the best aunt ever Olivia

Leave a Reply

