Return From Paradise

9 04 2009

There is always a certain amount of letdown involved with the return from any trip: return travel itself can be exhausting, and that’s only compounded by a sense of wistfulness at leaving a place one loves or returning to the pressures of every day life. I’ve experienced this many times over, but today I’m a bit out of sorts for a whole different set of reasons.

I’ve spent the past five days in paradise. From the time I arrived on Friday evening to the time I left yesterday morning, I never stopped hearing the crash of waves, was never cold and never had a worry beyond what I wanted to wear (pat on the back for a job well done in the packing department: all three bathing suits were worn and all but two dresses and a pair of shoes got a little love) and how to capture the beauty of the pristine turquoise water in words and photos (the latter remains under close scrutiny).

Now I’m back in Brooklyn and not entirely sure what to do with myself. Not only was I in total relaxation mode for nearly a week, but I was completely unplugged as well. That means no cell phone and no computer. Both got stamps in their passports, but the laptop wasn’t opened once and the phone (on roaming) was used only as a timepiece. There are no phones in the cottages, and no internet either. This, at first, caused a little anxiety, but by Saturday morning I found it utterly liberating. So liberating, in fact, that being online now is a strange experience. I’ve done nothing today but unpack and sift through 200+ emails that piled up in my absence, and I must admit that neither have I done very well (papers remain piled on the table and there are emails that are going to take more time to respond to just waiting until I’m fully adjusted).

For now, I’m just watching paradise for a little bit longer:

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

